LIFE ON FRAME PHOTOGRAPHY: Interview With Mutya Ng Ibaan 2017 Ms. Anne Mariden Evangelio

MUTYA NG IBAAN 2017 ANNE MARIDEN EVANGELIO LIFE ON FRAME PHOTOGRAPHY DENNIS TOREJA PEREZ 3
Mutya Ng Ibaan 2017 Ms. Anne Mariden Evangelio

PROFILE

Mutya Ng Ibaan 2017 Ms. Anne Mariden S. Evangelio is the daughter of proud parents Mr. Gaudencio S. Evangelio and Mrs. Marivic S. Evangelio. She’s 18 years old when she was crowned and is currently on her 3rd year as BS Architecture students at Batangas State University. A true-blue Ibaena from Brgy. Balanga, she’s an alumni of Saint James Academy Batch 2014 and boasts a sexy vital statistics at 33′ 27′ 36.

We got lucky to have an opportunity to sit down with her for an interview and here’s what she has to say to our queries:

MUTYA NG IBAAN 2017 ANNE MARIDEN EVANGELIO LIFE ON FRAME PHOTOGRAPHY DENNIS TOREJA PEREZ 4

LOF: Who informed you that you will be representing Brgy. Balanga for Mutya Ng Ibaan 2017?

ANNE: It was just an ordinary night, I am busy doing my plates. And then somebody knock on our door, It was our Barangay. Captain  together with his officials. They said I was chosen  to be the representative of  Brgy. Balanga  for Mutya ng Ibaan 2017.

LOF: What was your reaction/How did you feel about it?

ANNE: It is both an honor and pride to represent my Barangay. Being a representative of my Barangay is a great opportunity yet a big responsibility. I have to look good as always and of course,  I have to be  responsible with my words and actions because I want to be a positive role model to the youth.

MUTYA NG IBAAN 2017 ANNE MARIDEN EVANGELIO LIFE ON FRAME PHOTOGRAPHY DENNIS TOREJA PEREZ 10
Ms. Evangelio with Ms. Dane Marasigan (left) and Ibaan Mayor Juan “Danny” Toreja.

LOF: What did your parents say when they learned about it?

ANNE: Initially,  they did not allow me to join the pageant. I  feel so  hopeless that night, I thought my big  dream will never come true. My parents know about this dream, so they allowed me to join the pageant. They are very proud and happy to my success.

LOF: Have you joined any other pageant or beauty contest before? How did you fare in those pageant?

ANNE: Yes, I did. I started joining   pageants when I was on my 3rd grade in  Balanga  Elementary School. It was then followed when I was in my second year as a high school student at Saint James Academy. I also considered joining Miss Teen Philippines. I eventually got the opportunity to represent our Department in the Mr. and Ms. CEAFA  2014 (College of Engineering, Architecture and Fine Arts). Unfortunately, I didn’t win. But it didn’t stop me. In 2016, I was given the chance to prove myself in the same pageant for the second time. I thought that this time I can make it, but I guess it’s still not my time. But still, I never stopped  chasing my dream.I believed that the one who fall and gets up is so much stronger than the one who never fell.

MUTYA NG IBAAN 2017 ANNE MARIDEN EVANGELIO LIFE ON FRAME PHOTOGRAPHY DENNIS TOREJA PEREZ 5

LOF: How did you prepare for the Mutya Ng Ibaan 2017 pageant? Is there any beauty regimen that you made?

ANNE: There is no such thing like beauty regimen that I used. I just take a good rest,  eat healthy foods and to  know myself and to be myself are the keys to my success.

LOF: What adjustments did you make for Mutya Ng Ibaan 2017?

ANNE: The adjustments or sacrifices that I have made for this pageant are time and effort. However, it is worth it. All the friends that I have met, confidence and self-esteem I have gained, and all those colorful experiences and unforgettable memories are more than the worth of the adjustments I have made and all the sacrifices I have invested.

LOF: What is the most challenging part in Mutya Ng Ibaan 2017?

ANNE: To be the Mutya Ng Ibaan 2017 is the most challenging part for me. Knowing that  the perspective of those people are not the same as the judges. However, I found myself striving  harder and taking my responsibilities to prove that I truly deserved the crown.

MUTYA NG IBAAN 2017 ANNE MARIDEN EVANGELIO LIFE ON FRAME PHOTOGRAPHY DENNIS TOREJA PEREZ 15
Ms. Evangelio was also awarded Best In Festival Costume.

LOF: What was your reaction and how did you feel when you were told that there will be a swimsuit completion as part of Mutya Ng Ibaan 2017?

ANNE: Given the fact that I always join pageants and I’m a relatively confident person,  I still feel insecure about my body because I have a fat belly, flat butt,  fat legs and cheeky face. So I tried to do some gentle exercises and I’ve become more responsible when it comes to foodstuffs.

LOF: Is swimsuit competition important and should it remain an integral part of Mutya Ng Ibaan pageant? Why?

ANNE: In my own perspective, swimsuit competition is important and should remain an integral part of Mutya Ng Ibaan pageant because the contestants will be given a chance to showcase their physical attributes.

LOF: What was your greatest fear in joining Mutya Ng Ibaan 2017? Is there anything that you worry about?

ANNE: Joining Mutya Ng Ibaan 2017 is great opportunity yet a big responsibility. There are so many things  I worried about, What if I fail, What if I didn’t make it. I have so many what if’s by that time. As the pageant night starts, I surrender all my worry, doubt and fear to God, and I ask him to wash me clean. And so he did.

MUTYA NG IBAAN 2017 ANNE MARIDEN EVANGELIO LIFE ON FRAME PHOTOGRAPHY DENNIS TOREJA PEREZ 12

 

LOF: What is your ideal man?

ANNE: I don’t need a perfect man. A man of his own word, a man who know how to stand on his own and a man love me for what I am is my ideal man.

TIA: Are you single? Do you have a boyfriend? What did your boyfriend say knowing that you are joining Mutya Ng Ibaan 2017?

ANNE: I have a boyfriend. Actually, He was there when I was appointed as the representative of Barangay Balanga. He  know about my dream of being  a beauty queen and just like what my parents did, my boyfriend, together with his family,  supports me all through out the pageant. They are proud and happy to my success.

LOF: How was your experience with other candidates? Have you had any problem with your relationship with them?

ANNE: I was given a great opportunity to  work and developed friendships with my co-candidates. We had a smooth relationship, colorful memories and unforgettable experiences together.

LOF: Will you pose for a men’s magazine like FHM? Why?

ANNE: Posing for a men’s magazine is literally not my thing. I am now the face of the youth. I want to be their positive role model and be the instrument to develop their aspirations, goals, and behavior and support young people in their journeys toward adulthood.

 

LOF: What do you think of women who poses for men’s magazine?

ANNE: I think women who poses for men’s magazine are being put in subservient position under men.

TIA: What is your stand on violence against women and children? What should/can we do to protect their rights?

ANNE: Violations of human rights is one of the least prosecuted crimes and one of the greatest threats to lasting peace and development. The effects of violence can remain with everyone for a life time. In my own perspective, we can protect the rights of each other if the different sectors in our society work together.

LOF: Do you think there still exists discrimination against women in terms of job opportunities?

ANNE: Despite of what our government has done to give women a legal protection, job discrimination against women still exists. Some women are subjected to sexual harassments, bullying, teasing, and inappropriate exchange promise of rewards in exchange  for sexual favors. Beyond sexual harassments, there are also wage discrimination or gender pay gap. Women are consistently paid less for performing  the same task as men.

MUTYA NG IBAAN 2017 ANNE MARIDEN EVANGELIO LIFE ON FRAME PHOTOGRAPHY DENNIS TOREJA PEREZ 14

LOF: What makes women superior over men?

ANNE: Both man and woman were created for the glory of God. A woman is a man’s opposite. Men are tough, women are soft. Men are project-oriented, women are people oriented. Men love to compete, women are more cooperative. Women have a superior memory making them more equipped for multitasking and creating solutions in life’s challenges.

LOF: What are the advantages and disadvantages of being a woman?

ANNE: Woman can cry without looking weak in the society, women can wear any kind of clothes, women can take advantage of “Lady’s first” rule, women don’t have to do anything to prove you’re a girl, people expect women less suspicious, and women can accomplish almost anything/everything with a smile or a tear,  this are some of the advantages of being a woman that I experienced. And to counter each advantages, here are the following disadvantages, Women may be taken less serious in business, the monthly agony of girls, women suffer sexual assault, and women suffer the consequences of giving birth.

MUTYA NG IBAAN 2017 ANNE MARIDEN EVANGELIO LIFE ON FRAME PHOTOGRAPHY DENNIS TOREJA PEREZ 9
With other winners and Top 5 Finalists of Mutya Ng Ibaan 2017

LOF: What would you have for breakfast, Starbucks coffee or kapeng barako? Why?

ANNE: I would rather have kapeng barako for breakfast. As a Batangena, I should patronize and support our very own and well-known products. Batangas has more to offer like balisong, different kinds of delicacies, and a beautiful and astonishing beach resorts. As the tagline says, “ALL HERE, TO NEAR”.

LOF: What is the importance of Les KuHLiemBo Festival and how will you promote it?

ANNE: In my own perspective, Les KuHLiemBo Festival served as a thanksgiving and a celebration of the Ibaeños for their abundant life and for all the blessings they received. It is an honor and pride to showcase this festival by using the easiest and best promotional tool, it is the word of mouth or mouth advertising. By using this advertising method I am already giving the local and the tourist the assurance that they will going to leave Ibaan with fun, enjoyment and exceeded satisfaction.

LOF: During the pageant night, your question was “Ano ang pangunahing role ng mamamayan sa pag-unlad ng bayan?”. Is there any other answer that you would like to give aside from the one mentioned during the question and answer portion? Or can you expound more on your original answer?

ANNE: When I was asked a question “Ano ang pangunahing role ng mamayan sa pag unlad ng bayan?” The very first thing that comes into my mind was “disiplinado”. And from that I was able to answer the question, “Para sa akin, Ang pinapangunahing role ng mga mamayan para sa pag-unlad ng isang bayan ay ang dapat sila ay  maging isang disiplinadong tao para sa ika-uunlad ng ating bayan. Dahil naniniwala ako na kung marunong kang sumunod ay… na kung marunong kang sumunod.. ay magiging maayos ang lahat sa ating pamayanan. Yun lamang po at maraming salamat!” I am confident with that answer because  it truly came from my heart.

LOF: What is it that makes you a proud Ibaena? Is there anything that makes you proud about Ibaan?

ANNE: I am a proud Ibaena. As the tagline says, “IBA ANG IBAAN”. I can give the locals and the tourist the assurance that Ibaan have a very nice culture . We are always smiling no matter what or how heavy our problem is. Maybe that’s why even Ibaeno’s were in the different part of the world, we can easily mingle to other people. There are so many Ibaenos all over the world who are now very successful in their life just because most of the Ibaenos are very creative and full of patience. Ibaan is well-known because of our very own delicacy “tamales”. And with the God given talent to the Ibaenos, they’re also known in hand weaving and kulambo making. Ibaan is also known in  having a field of sugar cane and as a swine care taker. With all those products,  I am proud to showcase to the locals and the tourist our very own unique festival, LesKuHLiemBo.

LOF: What was running in your mind when you were standing face to face with Ms. Quilo?

ANNE: I joined so many pageants but I guess it’s not my time. Standing face to face with Ms. Quilo is  the best part of my pageant journey, so far. I am so happy and proud of myself. Finally, I’ve reached this stage.  All of the adjustments I have made and all the sacrifices I have invested are all worth it.

MUTYA NG IBAAN 2017 ANNE MARIDEN EVANGELIO LIFE ON FRAME PHOTOGRAPHY DENNIS TOREJA PEREZ 8

 

LOF: What was the first word you uttered when Ms. Quilo was called as 1st Runner Up which automatically makes you the Mutya Ng Ibaan 2017?

ANNE: The first word I uttered when I was announced as the Mutya Ng Ibaan is Thank you God. Finally, I’ve reached this stage.  All of the adjustments I have made and all the sacrifices I have invested are all worth it.

LOF How did you spend the cash prize you received?

ANNE: God blessed me so much, so I decided to share my blessings using the cash prize I received. I organized a simple feeding program at my chosen school. And I’m hoping to feed more children to alleviate hunger among students. Because I believed they are our future.

LOF: Now that you are crowned as Mutya Ng Ibaan 2017, what will be your advocacy in the next 5 years until the next Mutya Ng Ibaan pageant? How will you do it/implement that?

ANNE: As a Mutya Ng Ibaan 2017, I want to grab this given opportunity to be the face of goodwill with confidence and determination to persuade people to promote a healthy environment. To start my advocacy, I decided to affiliate with S.W.I.M (Save the Waters of Ibaan Movement) and Bro. Ding Tejada, so that I can inspire people to have the heart of taking good care of the nature. Because I believed that we do not inherit out environment from our ancestors, we borrow it from our children.

LOF: What is your advice/message to all girls out there who also of joining and becoming Mutya Ng Ibaan?

ANNE: To all the aspiring girls who wants to join and be the next Mutya Ng Ibaan in the next 5 years, allow your passion to become your purpose.  Keep your faith, never give up and always remember that “Sky is the limit.”

LOF: What will you be and where will you be in the next 5 years?

ANNE: In the next 5 years, I see myself as a mature woman who’s proud of what I become. I promise to myself to be a professional licensed architect in the next 5years and still pursuing my dreams to become the next Miss Universe.

LOF: Can we do another interview with you after 5 years?

ANNE: Yes, of course.

Looks like we got something to look forward to in the next 5 years!

Until then Ms. Anne Mariden Evangelio, and thank you!

Leave a comment